Early Morning Writing

Early Morning Writing

FullSizeRenderIt’s currently 5:49a.m. and I’ve already been up for nearly two hours. Under normal circumstances I would I find that fact disgusting. This week however I’m trudging through it, extra large coffee in hand, determined to get some early morning writing done. 

With the revitalization of my writing, I have come to the very obvious realization that there are a set number of hours in the day. If I am going to spend more time writing, I’m going to have to spend less time doing something else. The problem – one I have discussed ad nauseam with other writer friends – is deciding what daily activity to cut time from. Here are my options:

  • Work
  • Working Out
  • Spending Time with Reina
  • Weekend Activities
  • Reading
  • Eating
  • Sleeping

Obviously you can see my conundrum. That list is chalk-full of awesomeness that no one would want to take any time from. But I’ve decided to try my hand at this whole writing thing again so I have to chose something to take from. Now, I already know that there are a few items on that list whose time is simply non-negotiable.

The first of which is work. Apparently paying your bills on time and having health insurance are pretty important aspects of this whole “being an adult” thing I’ve got going on. As appealing as it sounds (and as often as the itch to write hits me at my desk), my manager would frown upon me writing at work.

The second non-negotiable is spending time with Reina. After spending the previous two years on opposite ends of the state, being recently engaged, and her being a generally awesome individual to hang out with, cutting out any time I have with her is a hard no. For better or worse, she’ll be starting her first year of law school at the end of next month and that is sure to take up a little more of time and so I might naturally get a little more writing time out of that.

Weekend activities are also very important to both my sanity and the health of my relationship. Reina and I both work really hard during the week and our small weekend activities are a small opportunities to recharge the batteries and catch up with one another. It would probably be unwise to eliminate those in favor of writing all alone in the corner.

The final non-negotiable is eating. I mean, technically, I could probably eat while I did some writing but…

Who am I kidding. That’s just not going to happen. Fat Kid: 1 Writer: 0

Working out is a somewhat negotiable. I have learned multiple times in my life that if I stop working out, I slowly evolve into a (fat) crazy person. My time in the gym is the closest thing I have to church. It is sacred time for me. The fitness aspect of it is important in its own right, but working out for me is the best outlet for me to, as my father says, work shit out. That said, I can be more efficient in my workouts. Between converting most of my workouts to a HIIT-style program and not checking Instagram between sets I should be able to shave off a few minutes for writing.


Finally we have reading and sleeping. Stephen King wrote a fairly popular book called On Writing that I refer to quite often at Wanna-Be Writer. In it, he had this to say about reading as a writer:

“If you don’t have the time to read, you don’t have the time (or the tools) to write. Simple as that.”

Who am I to argue with Stephen King? I don’t read enough as it is (one more thing to try and find time for) so I probably shouldn’t take any time away from what reading I am able to get done. Guess that leaves sleeping, which is why I find myself sitting at Starbucks at o’dark thirty tapping away at my laptop.

I am told that there was a time in my life that I actually woke up early willingly – like my body naturally wanted to be awake before the sun came up. I’m not sure I believe those stories because I sure as shit do not like to do that now. But, if writing successfully was easy everyone would be doing it. (For those of you who have never read a self-help book or seen a TED Talk, this goes for all passions.) Apparently the rubber hits the road around 4:30 in the morning. Time to pony up or go back to bed and sleep blissfully until the time when normal people wake up. *sigh*

Since I’m taking full advantage of the forced early wake ups this week, you might not see a ton of posts in the next few days. I’m going to devote most of this week to getting back into my novel project. I wrote about the hesitations holding me back last week (check it out here) and I’m going to try to bust through some of those before the weekend. So…

Until *yawn* next time,

Connor

P.S. Be sure to check out my new About page too! Writing that page is always an exercise in vanity, self-deprecation, humor, and frustration and it deserves to be read damn it!

3 thoughts on “Early Morning Writing

  1. This ALWAYS happens to me. I want to try something new, but I do not want to give up on anything else I am doing. I end up turning into a crazy person who is completely stressed because she is unable to do everything. Sigh…

Life is a discussion. Add to it!

